The pleasure of simple things

You have no idea the delight of a full shopping cart or sitting across a restaurant table sharing a meal with my son or being able to say yes – those $31 dollar jeans – yes we can get those.

I pay the phone bill, the gas bill, the electric bill and I marvel at how blessed I am to have found a job.

I take nothing for granted, but oh how I enjoy the pleasure of these small things.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robert Stockham
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 23:50:35

    Kudos to you. There is nothing like trials and tribulations to make us appreciate how great the simple pleasures can be! I am glad life is treating you to some of its delights instead of its troubles!

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting – you are so right about appreciation and delight.

    Reply

  2. Becky
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 15:24:18

    This post makes me smile. I’m so glad that you’ve found a good place. I’ve always maintained, now more than ever after Amelia’s surgery, that it really is the simple things in life.

    Kind of puts everything in perspective doesn’t it – by the way, if you go on wife swap I am definitely getting cable!

    Reply

  3. Lo
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 11:19:13

    Amen. You are present and thankful. I am working on that myself amidst a sea of others that ‘just don’t get it’ on many counts…I am new here and enjoy your blog:)

    Thank you so much for reading and especially for commenting – I have just been exploring your blog (good stuff!).

    Reply

  4. Kat
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 22:44:02

    You deserve it!

    Hopefully one day soon I can have those good feelings, too!

    Reply

  5. Jen
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 19:31:55

    I am so glad for you! Loved reading this post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

