Waiting for Spring

“Every mile is two in winter. “~George Herbert

I have a substantial commute to work, and by substantial I mean long. I was not naive, I knew the commute would be tough. First off, I start work at 8 AM, and if you live an hour and fifteen minutes away (under optimal conditions) you have to start your day early, real early.  I am up and on the road before most of my neighbors are stirring.

I have lived in Ohio most of my life, I am well aware of winter.  I have made regular long term commutes to jobs before, but never have I experienced winter driving the likes of which January presented.  Let’s talk about the -10 morning when barely 5 miles into my journey a truck spun out in front of me on I-271, nearly hitting me and leaving me shaking.  I had been on the job less than a month and I didn’t think I could make it to work that day.

And I didn’t.

I ended getting off the freeway and calling my boss, whom I had assured the commute would be “no problem” to tell him I thought it was too dangerous to drive.  Lucky for me, he was understanding.  When we had the 10 (and I swear it was more) inches a week or so later, I persevered and made it in to work.

It took me 2 1/2  hours.

I have new respect for winter driving.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pammy Girl
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 21:30:23

    I remember those days. Yuk. I’m so sorry about your accident… how are you? While we don’t have snow, we do have the worst traffic in the world. I live 7 miles from my office. In the mornings, it take 15-20 minutes. At night it could take anywhere from 30 to 90 minutes. No snow, rain, sleet, hail… just too many idiots on the road. I miss public transportation.

    How goes the job???

    The job is wonderful and I love my paycheck so much I whisper sweet nothings to it before we go to sleep each night.

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 21:34:44

    I’m right there with you!

    There were several drives that tested the limits of my tolerance for winter; on the other hand, driving in no snow feels like vacation.

    Reply

  3. jeanie
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 01:35:04

    I cannot even imagine what driving in such conditions would be like.

    I am getting use to it – but I see relocation in the not to distant future.

    Reply

  4. Christopher Barzak
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 19:19:45

    I’ve been thinking about you this past month making the drive here and back again. It has to be terrible, though I know what you mean about having the paycheck and whispering sweet nothings to it before going to sleep each night. A certain amount of security of that nature can go a long way.

    It is odd how worries and joys shift as I acclimate to the working life.

    Reply

  5. bluesuit12
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 22:14:27

    I’m so glad that you’re ok and didn’t get hit. I hate driving in the snow and I’m so glad I’m moving out of Utah and won’t have to deal with it anymore. And double congrats on the job!!

    Moving? I have not had time to catch up on blogs since I started my job (re-entry to a 12 hour day after 12 months of couch potato-ness tool a lot of adjustment) – I am going to zip over to yours to see what the deal is. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

