I’m the one you want*

Suddenly sexy Ohio voting block seeks candidate for long walks on the beach, cuddling and universal health care.

I’ve sensed something in the air the past few weeks.  Men, powerful men, who haven’t given me the time of day since my first hot flash, suddenly can’t get enough of me.  Those beltway elites who only last year looked down on my mid-western got it at Wal-Mart style with a milkshake on the side find me irresistible.

Being from Ohio is suddenly sexy.  I feel somewhat shy when he, you know him, the one who left me after I put on a few pounds, gave me the hot once over from the top of my frosted bob, down past my “Big Dog Mom” sweatshirt, way past my elastic waist jeans all the way down to my easy spirit walking shoes (so comfortable!). Honestly “guys and gals” it’s enough to make a older woman blush.

I don’t want to give in but somehow when he looks at me with those watery eyes and crooked smile I get all misty – I think I see a hero or something, but maybe I just forgot to put on my glasses. Just when I think he has forgotten me or written me off he is back again with more sweet talk and promises. I have to tell you I am so worn out what with dealing with my mom, while looking for work and being a single mom, I find it hard to resist.

Before, I was kind of blaming him for my problems finding work, and you know, his friends said some pretty mean things like my problems were all in my head!  I felt kind of bad. Later he told me he wasn’t hangin’ with those guys anymore.  He said he was always fighting for me even when I couldn’t tell.  He just had to keep on the down low.

I told him I just picked up some temp work that probably would last a couple weeks. I asked him to call me after November 5th.  He kinda got quiet.

I told him I would move to Arizona with him – or even to some other place.  I think he is pretty well off.  He wouldn’t give me a commitment, just told me to stay faithful no matter what.

He mentioned one other guy who “I think” is kind of interested in me too, but I have to tell you, even though John (opps I shouldn’t have spilled that) is dreamy in a wrinkly white kind of way, the other one, you know “that one” is looking kind of attractive.

Trouble is, there is no flirting with him.  He makes it clear he respects me, he might even help me out, but I get the feeling he doesn’t think of me as a simple minded damsel in distress looking for a savior.  He wants me to think and act, and even take action, to move on and rebuild my life.

Sigh.

Five Husbands Madonna Homage

Five Husbands Madonna Homage

*I haven’t been this desirable since 1985

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LilaTovCocktail
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 15:48:01

    Oh, excellent post! On so many levels.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting – I can’t believe either of us are awake enough to write a coherent sentence! Here’s to hoping for a good night’s sleep!

    Reply

  2. Corina
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 10:52:33

    I love this post! If only I was so desirable. Although a swinger, not fighting as hard over me here.

    Corina – thank you for stopping by and commenting – I think this is the first time that being from Ohio has ever been a turn on for anyone. As you can tell by my blog title my head is turned very very easily so I am keeping both feet on the ground for the time being!

    Reply

  3. Renée aka Mekhismom
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 11:53:00

    I love this post! You really made me smile and I am sure your milkshake will still call all the boys after the election! ; )

    Well since I am single again I sure hope my milkshake still has some – um shake!

    Reply

  4. Lisa Williams
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 14:26:32

    Hilarious! Great post.

    Reply

  5. Carole Cohen
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 14:57:11

    Five Husbands thanks for the Twitter shout out to the ron howard video I had to post it myself.

    As for this post, I am still smiling!!!!!! Thanks for making my day.

    Reply

  6. amandalinn
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 12:59:58

    This post is fabulous in so many ways.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

