The Peppermint Phone Is Ringing

When Son No. 1 became engaged to She-Who-Is-Brilliant I not only received the gift of a daughter, but also two wonderful grandchildren, I’s and Ev. They don’t call me grandma because, as I’s puts it, “Judy doesn’t like to feel old.” He is right. But if growing old is a bitch, having grandchildren makes it a whole lot easier. I am new at this grandmothering game but I do my best and am learning as I go.

I’s is an impossibly skinny pre-teen with an irreverent wit and a natural slacker style. He is an astute observer of the human condition and delivers his pronouncements with a deadpan delivery style that alternately tickles me to death or drives me insane. Or both.

With I’s I get to indulge my inner Jewish mother “eat eat!” He “tolerates” it, barely.

What now?

What now?

Ev is almost 7: she captivates everyone with her sparkling brown eyes and wondrous imagination.

Ev

Ev

Where I’s is laid back to a fault, Ev is on 24/7. Never passive, always creating, you could put Ev in a cardboard box and within minutes she would create a magical and functional world where she rules and everyone else follows.

Coffee shop artist

Coffee shop artist

This past week the kids spent a couple days with me. The first afternoon we had to stay home for some reason. I’s was deep into in his DS (remind me to give it back I’s – it is in my cupboard) while languishing, as only a teenager can, in an overstuffed chair. Meanwhile Ev was on a mission to have fun. She looked around my cluttered family room and spied a silver candy tin – “can I have it?” she asks.

Empty Tin

Empty Tin

Within minutes she fashioned herself a peppermint phone complete with dial pad and background graphics.

Peppermint Phone - Limited Edition

Peppermint Phone - Limited Edition

This little tin box kept her amused for 2 days and reminded me of the wonder of childhood and imagination.

Don’t forget to dream.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 10:54:21

    What cool kids!

    Yes they are – and with Ev I can finally buy the frilly dresses and girly things my boys refused to wear!.

    Reply

  2. pamajama
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 17:06:55

    The phone is so cute! She & my daughter would get along well — today mine had a movie festival in her room & we could not enter without knocking & showing a backstage pass she made yesterday.

    I hope my son brings home someone I can call “She Is Brilliant.” How lucky are you!

    They would get along! Ev posted an touch pad on her door drew with a secret code for each family member. If she didn’t want you in – she changed the code.

    Reply

  3. Maggie, dammit
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 17:44:44

    Ohmygosh, that phone thing is amazing. Sounds like both grandkids are wonderful.

    And I have to say, I love your blog’s tagline. TOO funny.

    Thanks for dropping in – Okay Fine, Dammit – I just LOVE the name of your blog.

    Reply

  4. bluesuit12
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 09:22:10

    Love the phone and the look the boy gave in the second pic. Full of attitude without being hostile. I’ll bet the keep you on your toes for sure!

    Bluesuit – we call that “passive aggressive”! They do keep me on my toes – and engaged in life especially since I have been going through the divorce and job searching. I love them to pieces.

    Reply

  5. Pammy Girl
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 18:09:05

    I remember being perfectly entertained with a cardboard box, a blanket and a few chairs for an entire day. Why is it that when we grow up we forget to dream and be happy with the simple things life offers?

    Pammy – I keep trying to get back to that simplicity.

    Reply

  6. Enza
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 10:49:34

    How lovely to hear about the growing family…and the kids are a real treasure. I love what Ev did with the tin. Un po’ di fantasia (a bit of imagination+creativity+more) … I so agree with Pammy Girl about expecting things to be ready-made and us losing this precious ability to dream at such a young age.

    May your time with them continue to bring you fulfillment in this crazy world.

    Enza – we draw outside with chalk – last week we did hello kitty – we started with the iconic head outline HUGE. I was concerned that we didn’t have room left in the driveway for the body. Ev took it in stride and added a tiny body. It taught me a lesson on creating more and judging less.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Blogging My birthday, Arjewtino style « Five Husbands

Leave a Reply

