Weird Freeway Sightings

Ohio’s freeways are pretty boring. Sure you get the occasional big rig decked out in twinkle lights at Christmas but for the most part it is mini-vans, sensible sedans and the occasional motorcycle. Today I did 3 round trips up and down 271/I90 to my son’s home and back to help him haul party planning goodies for his best friend’s bachelor party. BORING!

I ALWAYS whine about my karma – if I snark or shirk I usually have to pay up immediately but good payback usually takes time – until today. And let me tell you it was swell.

Picture this – my son asks me to make a 3rd 40 mile round trip to his house because someone forgot to pack the x-box controllers for the bachelor party (what happened to strippers?) – I am driving on remote, paying attention but allowing my mind to wander (is that a stray hair I feel on my chin and can anyone see it?) when all of a sudden I notice a huge white apparition in the lane in front of me.

What in the world? I speed up and direct my daughter in law to take pictures because NO ONE will believe me if I tell them about this.

An eagle, a llama, a pony and a mammoth white horse.

I couldn’t believe my eyes.

I must of have done something GREAT today and the Universe was saying I love you Five Husbands!

And the wonderfulness didn’t stop there – a few minutes after the stone animal flatbed I saw a convoy of three semis – all identical except for coloring, all with a flaming bengal tiger logo with SIKH underneath – and the drivers were turbaned and bearded Sikh truckers.

How lucky can one girl get?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Maiden Metallurgist
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 09:46:29

    Thanks for stopping by and for the good wishes! It is a small world!

    Reply

  2. Becky
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 12:25:14

    That is the coolest thing I’ve seen on the freeway.

    Reply

  3. MB Matthews
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 16:22:50

    How funny!
    I had a similar freeway experience following a flatbed truck in Texas, except that the horse was dead, and a deputy sherrif was involved. I’d completely forgotten about the incident until I read your post.
    Now you’ve inspired me to tell the story on my website. Hopefully I will be motivated this evening. Thanks!
    I’ve been enjoying reading through your blog this afternoon since I had a little time to kill.
    I’ll have to add it to my favorites.

    mb

    mb – thank you for stopping by – I have been reading your blog since January – love the VW project and I always love your photos.

    Reply

  4. Lynne
    Jul 12, 2008 @ 20:58:03

    Glad you stopped by my site — I posted a response about where to find otter pops, so good luck with that quest! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Ann
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 09:22:31

    I cannot believe those aren’t lashed down. Can you imagine shattered llama all over the pavement if the driver had to make an emergency swerve across the lanes? Don’t you wish you could have followed them to their destination, like an ambulance chaser?

    PS The strippers are probably in the XBox game.

    Truth be told I really really did want to follow them (and full disclosure – as an attorney aka “ambulance chaser) and see what the hell they were doing. Their tags were from Tennessee and they were heading west – if anyone else sees this flatbed please let me know.

    Those pictures were taken with my Treo phone through the window of my car while we were travelling at 65 MPH trying to keep up with the flatbed.

    And I am so bummed I couldn’t get a picture of the Sikh truck convoy – they were beyond cool!

    Reply

  6. Pammy Girl
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 10:57:03

    Oh my! I’m thrilled you posted photos of such weirdness. I need to remember to always have my camera around just for this purpose.

    BTW: I posted 6 random things about me a few days ago. So sorry I didn’t tell you earlier.

    Reply

  7. Jack
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 17:01:07

    x-box controllers for the bachelor party

    Things have changed since the last bachelor party I attended.

    Jack – thank you for dropping by and commenting – I meandered around your various blogs – you are a very complex guy.

    Reply

  8. Tyler S Clark
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 16:29:32

    I really ought to get out and drive west more. Usually, I just drive east through PA and to DC and back for business. Thanks for linking to GreenEnergyTV. Oh, and go Obama!

    Tyler – Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I am a fan of your work, your wife’s work, and your mom and my hometown. All of you are doing great things for Youngstown.

    Reply

  9. Tyler S Clark
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 22:17:59

    My mom’s talked about you, so I wanted to be sure to check you out. I’ll be sure to stop by more often. I also added you to my blog list on the site. Cheers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

