New GI Bill Passed!

The New GI Bill just passed

The White House and Congress have reached an agreement on the new GI Bill. The bill will now be included in the Emergency Supplemental Funding for the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. The House of Representatives gave their overwhelming stamp of approval to the plan on Thursday afternoon with a vote of 416-12. Once the Senate passes the updated version of the bill, it will go to the President’s desk for his signature.

via email from Patrick Campbell, Iraq Veteran, Legislative Director, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. todd
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 22:49:21

    I’m an OIF vet. Retired USAF. Served 1981-2005. Fought in three wars. Can I transfer my new GI Bill benefits to my child? She is 13 and starts college in 5 years. If I can transfer the my college tuition to help my daughter, that would be the greatest reward for my 24 years of service.

    Also, will she get the E-5 BHA? for living expenses, too or is that only for active duty?

    It all sound too good to be true for us old guys…..

    How do I sign my daughter up?

    Todd Parker, Lt Col, USAF (ret),

    Todd – thank you for stopping by and commenting. I don’t know the answer to your question as I haven’t read the new bill or compared it to the old bill – but you raise an important point. I will research this and post an update.

    Reply

  2. Matthew
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 15:01:34

    So long as you still have entitlement on your old GI Bill this new bill is supposed to supercede it. Under the new guidelines you can transfer your education benefits to your children. That pretty much seems to me like you could transfer it to your daughter. I don’t know about the living allowance but I would think since that is apart of your benefit then it would be apart of her entitlement as well.

    “Matching funds for Tuition Forgiveness (max: $3,000/ year)[xi]; Can be used to repay student debt; Benefits can be transferred to spouses/ children after 6-12 years of active-duty”

    As quoted from:
    http://www.gibill2008.org/sidebyside.html

    I hope that helps.

    Matthew – thank you for stopping by, clarifying the benefits of the new bill and for the link.

    Reply

  3. Wayne
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 10:32:40

    I have read that you need to still be in the military and committed for another 4 years as of Aug 2009 before you can transfer the entitlement to dependents. It does not look like retirees can transfer to dependents. I retired in 2003 after a 10 month deployment. It appears that I can not transfer mine to my son. Maybe I am wrong and there is something for retired military?

    Wayne – thank you for stopping by and commenting – unfortunately I think you are right. Check out 20 Top FAQS

    17. Question: Can I transfer my GI Bill benefit to family members?

    Answer: Yes, but the details for doing so have not been completely clarified yet.

    Transferring Post 9/11 GI Bill Benefits: The Department of Defense (DoD) is authorized to allow individuals who, on or after August 1, 2009, have served at least 6 years in the Armed Forces and who agree to serve at least another 4 years in the Armed Forces to transfer unused entitlement to their dependents (spouse, children). The Department of Defense may, by regulation, impose additional eligibility requirements and limit the number of months transferable to not less than 18 months.

    Transfer of Unused Education Benefits Under MGIB (Chapter 30), 1606, or 1607 to Family Members. The Department of Defense is authorized to allow individuals who have served at least 6 years in the Armed Forces and who agree to serve at least another 4 years in the Armed Forces to transfer unused entitlement to their dependents (spouse, children) under chapters 30, 1606, and 1607. The Department of Defense may, by regulation, impose additional eligibility requirements and limit the number of months transferable to not less than 18 months.

    NOTE: Although the transfer of entitlement provisions are effective as of June 30, 2008, DoD must develop regulations and provide VA with eligibility information before we can make payments under this provision. The ability to transfer benefits is limited to those currently serving in the military.

    For a discussion on this issue – via Military.com Mixed Feelings Over Post 9/11 GI Bill

    Reply

  4. Wayne
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 15:15:32

    If you are retired, it appears that you can not transfer to your children. This does not seem fair. I think we need to write to our representatives to get this changed.

    I agree – the children of our service men and women sacrifice much when their parents are in the armed forces.

    Reply

  5. kelly
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 10:54:38

    My husband is active and is E7. He has two years left to go and he has served his 21 years and then will retire. I am a current student now at UoP. Will I be able to use his benefits to pay for my tuition? We heard that I would but are not sure where the details are to be found.

    Kelly – thank you for stopping by and commenting. I don’t know the answer to your question – based on the comments above it see it seems you might be. But they also have more regulations to adopt.

    Reply

  6. Bob
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 08:35:57

    After chapter 33 is implemented will it affect chapter 31? For example, VR&E covers everything but the housing stipend, will the new GI Bill change that?

    Bob – I don’t know the answer to your question. I am going to try to update this post with more current information so check back next week.

    Reply

  7. Kyle Carmody
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 22:26:46

    I read that my obligation period due to ROTC is ineligible time per the new GI Bill. I owed 4 years and served 5 years. I’m thinking of joining the ARNG to continue my post 9/11 time. Does anyone know if this time will count to the 36 months required to get 100% benefits? Also, if the max benefit I can achieve is $30K (an example) and I have 3 kids, does each child receive $30K or is $30K divided by 3 (my initial inkling)? Thanks.

    Reply

  8. Kathryn Teskey
    May 31, 2009 @ 12:15:46

    My question is this. I am currently attending college and have taken student loans to cover the expense. Can my husband’s GI bill benefits be transferred to me to cover those student loans? I will graduate in two semesters. The new bill seems to no be retroactive to school already attended and paid for, only school attended AFTER August 1, 2009? It also puts a date that children need to attend by. Our children are small. My question is simply, it will be at least 8 years before the first of our children attend college. If his GI benefit will expire before they attend, can it they be used to repay my Student loan debts as long as they are inactive and do not have to begin repayment (as long as I am a fulltime student)? If you don’t have the answer, is there someone I can call to check on this possibility?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

