Five Husbands and Shoes

I am looking at the word there on the screen and it looks odd – shoes – I double check my spelling of this simple word and am relieved to find, in spite of months of unemployment, my basic spelling skills remain intact.

Last month I posted that I would be purchasing all my shoes from Zappos effective May 18, 2008. I had anticipated my first purchase would be to celebrate employment, however, going to interviews and securing the perfect job is still in process. But, my divorce is final so to celebrate the settlement, and because all my summer sandals are falling apart, I am debuting the online interactive performance piece, Five Husbands and Shoes (© 2008 ) with a purchase of sandals.

Here is where you come in – given my obvious issue of making the wrong choices (this blog isn’t called One Husband) I am letting you, the readers of this blog, choose for me. Of course I may ignore your choice (do you really think no one warned me about the choice of 1-5?) but if you make a convincing argument I may listen.

Here are the choices:

Clarks Firecracker

FitZwell Fir

Think! Mizzi

Merrell Chameleon Arc Web

Voting ends June 17, 2008 – which would have been my 36th Wedding Anniversary had I stayed married to Husband No. 1. And yes I was young – very very young.

Best wishes to No. 1 wherever you are – in retrospect – you weren’t half bad.

P.S. Don’t vote for Think! – even though it is my favorite – it is out of my justifiable purchase range.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eac
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 10:34:26

    1. Firecracker! Colour & style perfect for summer.
    2. Merrell only if you plan to do a lot of hiking.

    My thoughts exactly – but I know you have a preference for red!

    Reply

  2. Becky
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 10:48:26

    I’m digging this one FitZwell Fir.

    But you should know, I’m not only colorblind, but I’ve been known (by some) to have Bad Taste.

    Becky – but you picked the Daver so let them say you don’t have taste, because you did have the good sense to marry the right one unlike some people I know. Thank you for the full disclosure on the color blindness issue, I am being careful to be ever so kind to you knowing the delicate condition of your left foot. Thanks for hobbling over to vote – HUGS!

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 11:01:10

    Red. Red!

    Honey, after a divorce we need red shoes. Trust me. I’m the only reader who knows this as well as you!

    Amen to that Jan!

    Reply

  4. Elizabeth
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 12:40:08

    I pick the Clarks red ones but if you want the shoes to “last a long time” I would pick the Merrell shoes.
    No pun intended!
    Zappos Rocks!!!
    LOL

    Elizabeth – thank you for voting – you know you have a good point about the Merrell’s – after five marriages I am ready for something that lasts!

    Reply

  5. Cheri (olevia)
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 20:26:06

    I vote for the clarks firecracker. If anyone needs to kick up their heels, it’s you!

    Cheri – Thank you for visiting and voting. I do believe you are right it has been way too long since I kicked up my heels!

    Reply

  6. Jill
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 21:41:21

    I like the think Mizzi ones. And I’m really digging this theme and the way you have comments!

    Jill – those are my favorites too – but the price probably will keep them out of the running. Thanks for stopping by and for voting.

    Reply

  7. Trula
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 12:38:06

    I like the red ones too!

    Trula – Thanks for visiting and commenting – the red ones seem to be taking a clear lead.

    Reply

  8. Richard
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 21:04:23

    Oh, the Firecrackers are SO HOT. I am just a gay guy… a Southern Redneck WASP in fact who is on the third year of a GREAT relationship with a nice Jewish boy from Long Island. I want to apologize for all the WASP men you dated. WASPs can be VERY boring but being from the South helps ameliorate that…

    anyhow… I really do not know a lot about heterosexual relationships but I can tell you those Clark Firecrackers are HOT HOT HOT.

    So there. 🙂

    Richard – thank you for visiting and voting – and I agree being southern both takes the edge off and puts the edge on people who would otherwise be white bread. And thank you for making me smile – I really needed it.

    Congratulations on landing a nice Jewish boy from Long Island – you know they say Jewish men make the best husbands!

    Reply

  9. Richard
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 12:51:31

    Howdy,

    Thanks for the response. The way I found your blog was the Two Buck Chuck posting. It seems Trader Joe’s is doing nothing about this death.

    Do you know of any protests being organized or boycotts of TJ’s?

    Richard, Gay and utterly Reconstructed Southern Redneck…

    Richard – I don’t know of anything specific to protest Trader Joe’s – I wrote to them from the link on their web page. I was surprised that the staff was not prepared to answer questions about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

