Doing Good In The Neighborhood

In spite of cynical reports to the contrary, I see evidence that kindness and compassion are on the rise, both in my virtual and real life communities. In my own life, over these past months of unemployment, I have been the recipient of abundant kindness from friends. Without their support I wouldn’t be able to keep on track with my job search, let alone cover my food, gasoline and other random expenses.

I am so blessed, and to my angels (you know who you are), I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

But this something worse than being unemployed – being unemployed and gravely ill.

My friend and neighbor Gary Balogh, a long time employee of Jack’s Deli in University Heights, was recently diagnosed with an aggressive form of Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma. Gary was the breadwinner in his family – you could say he brought home the (kosher) bacon.

Gravely ill and no longer able to work, he lost his job.

A group of friends has set up a benefit and benevolent fund to help support Gary and his family through this journey. Now I am asking you, my virtual community, to check out Gary’s website and give what you can, whether it be a prayer, a good wish or a donation. The Balogh Family is grateful for all your support.

And just so you know what kind of folks Gary and Joellen are – they sent me home with a bag of groceries last night.

You can find out more about Gary’s journey, the Balogh Family Benevolent Fund and make a donation at Nosh On This

The Talmud (Baba Batra 9a) says: “Greater than one who does a mitzvah, is one who causes others to do a mitzvah.” If you really want to be effective, wake others up to the problem, and mobilize their efforts.

Please spread the word.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    May 18, 2008 @ 21:08:17

    Hi Judy – I posted something about the event this evening. Thoughts and prayers with them.

    Thank you Jill – I appreciate yet.

    Reply

  2. Becky
    May 19, 2008 @ 11:55:17

    That’s just wonderful. I will be checking them out immediately.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

