Getting My Russian On

In my neighborhood the Russians have the best parties. In a a boring suburb where most parties are dry, involve low fat foods and desserts are only nibbled at, my Russian neighbors stand out with their extravagant celebrations. Every holiday finds me peeking over the fence, envying the large family gatherings, the easy conversation and the vodka bottles on every table.

It is more than the parties though. Russian men seem to adore their women and the women seem to be made to be adored – robust, big hair, full make up and always dressed to the nines. And their jewelry – it is always real, always gorgeous.

I’ve been feeling kind of gray and blah and haven’t been able to generate any spark or sass. I mean I blogged my cat, with pictures, for pity sake. I took a walk outside this afternoon (ok I thought about taking a walk outside) and got to thinking about the party my Russian neighbors had last week. They had spark. They had sass. I want me some of that.

There is no party tonight across the fence and I can’t put this off. I have to start today.

So here it is the Five Husbands Russian Revolution.

Beets and vodka. Beets for their renown healing powers and vodka because it is the perfect food. It is both alcohol and a vegetable. If I add a hard boiled egg I have a complete balanced meal.

Enjoy.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    May 01, 2008 @ 19:40:29

    Delicious. Except for the beets. And the hard boiled egg.

    The beets (and Fage Greek yougurt) were good. And the vodka – always the right choice.

    Reply

  2. bookfraud
    May 02, 2008 @ 11:50:07

    everybody knows that beets don’t go with vodka. only vodka goes with vodka. sheesh.

    no stoli?

    I am currently drinking Three Olives, well not currently since it’s only 2 PM, what I mean is all I have is the Three Olives. Will have to try Stoli someday.

    Reply

  3. pamajama
    May 03, 2008 @ 12:51:26

    This is the party I want to attend! i’ve been thinking I need to start with the make-up again. Unfortunately, if I drink a lot of vodka the eyeliner will end up on my chin.

    Could I just throw the beets, once we’re completely wasted? Once the cops show up it’ll look like a massacre.

    Reply

  4. Neil
    May 08, 2008 @ 03:37:54

    As someone married to a Russian, I can tell you that the Russian way of celebrating is much more fun and wild than our measly cocktail parties, although they can be a bit overwhelming with all the food and drinks and obligatory toasts. Russians are always making fun of the American style of serving wine and cheese, which would be considered an insult.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

