When you want to smell like death

Happily reading my daily Mommy Wants Vodka I stumbled  upon a comment mentioning “Demented Fragrances” offering scents like Dirt, Tomato Leaf, Gin & Tonic, Play-Doh and Crayon. Hey count me in – I googled “demented perfume” and discovered 3 things. First I had read the name incorrectly – it was “Demeter” perfume. Second, “Demented” would have been more appropriate. Three, the reason why:

Funeral Home is a blend of classic white flowers: lilies, carnations, gladiolus, chrysanthemums with stems and leaves, with a hint of mahogany [cadaver] and oriental carpet. This scent actually started out to be Flower Show. Now our founding perfumer personally did NOT like most white flowers so this was a tough fragrance for him to develop, so he consulted on it with partner, Christopher Gable. When he first smelled this one, Christopher Gable exclaimed “It smells like my Grandfather’s funeral… Let’s call it Funeral Home!” So we did.”

Just to be clear – I added “cadaver.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 21:48:41

    Dude, I’m first in line for this beauty.

    I seriously wonder if anyone buys it and then wears it.

    *shudders*

    Reply

  2. fivehusbands
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 22:00:03

    Becky,

    I cannot imagine but apparently they sell this stuff at the local Sephora, including a fragrance called “after sex.”

    Reply

  3. bookfraud
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 09:57:41

    i’m speechless. i mean, truly, utterly speechless. you have to post something mad crazy nuts in order to do that.

    i mean, they might as well introduce a fragrance called “napalm” and have robert duvall market it.

    Reply

  4. Cheri
    Apr 09, 2008 @ 15:09:54

    I’m a lot less squeamish than most, IMHO, but I had to read that story 3 times (and google it as well) before I decided it wasn’t a really late april fool’s joke.

    (should be packaged & sold with the “six feet under” dvd’s).

    Reply

  5. Jill
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 13:46:29

    OMG lol thank you for posting this. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

