Lightning Strikes Twice

I feel time shifting under my feet and it is making me crazy. I didn’t think growing older would be such a big issue but then is anyone really prepared for the unholy things the lack of estrogen does to a body? I am thinking about my boys and how we live and the impact of decisions and what can I do to insure they know their strength and worth even in spite of a multitude of challenges.

Son No. 1 is engaged to a lovely woman whose story would melt any mother’s heart. The eldest daughter of drug addicts she raised three siblings when she was a child herself. Against all odds, and without the benefit of formal education, she is an IT executive. And yes, the barons of industry take full advantage of her first rate intellect and lack of degree by paying her less than she is worth. She works hard; he works hard and they can’t get a break. This weekend both of their crappy vehicles bit the dust – I know it is stupid of me to rail against the heavens but why, why when it is already so hard – why must it be harder?

I don’t have the energy to direct you to the posts of banking practices designed to keep the downtrodden down where they belong, but I am referring to the all the same issues that I have blogged about before. Credit reporting is done by private companies accountable to no one and credit rules your life. Get behind and stay behind. And when you are behind the smallest thing can pull you under and if you have a small family as we do, where someone who would love to help me , can’t, it makes for a hard afternoon.

Son No. 1 and I were trying to figure out what we could do to get everyone through this time – and, in the course of conversation he said something very important –

“Anyone with enough power and money today can become a robber baron” And he is right – when I think of the many many folks with big bucks and the back stories of how they came to have it – he is right – they are nothing but robber barons. Yet, they garner accolades and praise.

Yes sometimes these people give big to charity but they break plenty of backs on their way to the giving. And if they weren’t such SOB’s maybe there wouldn’t need to be so much corporate charity.

I am done venting – I will probably erase this later, but for now here it is raw and honest – my 1AM despair.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 09:29:04

    I hate it when things seem overwhelmingly hard. I’m sorry, fivehusbands, sounds like life is treating you to a shit sandwich.

    Reply

  2. bookfraud
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 10:59:17

    i hope things improve soon — your family sounds strong, and will find a way. when things seem overwhelming,

    being a newbie to “five husbands,” i’m curious about your entries regarding the credit business. i once wrote about it a long time ago, and totally know where you’re coming from…

    please continue with the honesty. it makes for great blog entries, no matter how painful it seems.

    Reply

  3. bookfraud
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 11:07:19

    oops. i meant to say, “when things seem overwhelming, you can trust fate.”

    Reply

  4. fivehusbands
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 12:15:13

    Becky – thank you and yea it does feel like a shit sandwich right now – I keep on keeping on, partly by reading uplifting and wonderfully funny stories like yours and partly because I am too G-d dam stubborn to give up.

    Bookfraud – eventually I will write more about the credit stuff and I am going to search your blog for what you have written. I think banking practices are a huge part of the problem these days. Thank you for your kind comments. I worry about being too bleak (honest) in this blog but I am getting better about it.

    Reply

  5. bookfraud
    Apr 08, 2008 @ 19:10:47

    don’t bother searching my blog for stuff about credit cards — i wrote about them in a prior life, as a journalist, during this weird period of history when all words were either written or on printed matter.

    ahh I remember that time

    Reply

Leave a Reply

