Ohio, Obama and My Mama

Summary: My mom fell, broke her pelvis, I was up all night, Son No. 2 and I voted this afternoon. Obama.

Life continues behind the political circus. Five Husbands mama, a teeny bit of a thing, fell last night after attending a lenten something or other at her church. She thinks she caught her heel on a bench in the hallway and down she went. Just like the commercial made famous by C. Everett Koop, she had fallen and she couldn’t get up. X-rays revealed a fractured pelvis.

I got the call from the semi-family anointed at 11:30 PM. Son No. 1 and I made the 1 1/2 hour drive to the hospital in a driving rain storm. We arrived about 1:30 AM. Mama was awake and in pain. There was a man in the next room yelling “finish me off, help me, help me, why don’t you just kill me …” He apparently had broken his neck falling down the stairs. The nurses had called the police.

Is there anyplace weirder than a hospital in the middle of the night?

My mom was awake and in pain. She told us that she hurt; I asked her the proverbial rate your pain question. The answer – 10. She wasn’t allowed more pain meds for another 2 hours so we stayed until she had a second pain shot and was ready to sleep. We got home about 5:30 AM.

Voting – my question – should I stay up and vote at 6:30 AM or sleep. I slept.

treo-08-feb-012.jpg

Son No. 2 and I joined a smattering of voters at our polling location at 3:30 PM. He cast his first ballot today as I, much to his chagrin, documented the event for his baby book. As I posted on Writes Likes She Talks (my first stop for primary information this evening):

He studied the issues, cared enough to make a thoughtful choice on everything on the ballot (including judicial races) and voted his conscience for Presidential nominee, even though he had to defend that choice to some family members.We teach our children to care enough to be involved. Today I saw evidence that his dad and I did a good job.

Update on the Mama

I just spoke with my mom. She is comfortable. Resting and just a little bit loopy due to the meds. She is chatting with her roommate who was admitted about 3:30AM this morning. I was there when she was admitted, heard her say she had to be discharged in time to vote. She wasn’t, but turns out the Board of Elections sent someone to the hospital so she could get it done.

I’m keeping updated on election results with Gloria Ferris

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ame i.
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 20:58:06

    Oh good lawd, bless her heart! I haven’t checked your blog in awhile, I’m so sorry to hear that. Will be praying for your sweet mom.

    Reply

  2. eac
    Mar 06, 2008 @ 09:40:34

    Hope things are better for your mom.
    Glad to hear you and your son got out on Tuesday to vote.
    Your family is in my thoughts. Take care! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

