Ellen, Pammy-Girl’s Roommate and My Mom

I regularly read Pammy-girl’s blog even though she, by her own admission, attracts men over the age of 50, thus reducing the potential dating pool for Five Husbands. I have to keep reading to see if she is tossing back any potential suitors. Note to Pammy – not interested in today’s toss. But I digress – I checked in the other day expecting to experience my normal level of envy (she’s young, she’s beautiful, she’s one hell of a writer) and instead was sucker punched between my two very green eyes.

Pammy-girl’s roommate hit the jackpot on Ellen. Pammy wins by association and by the tell-tale swag.

I have been watching for years, scheming for years, from all these miles away, to get on the Ellen show. I even submitted a pitch featuring my aging mother in an amaturish photo/drawing collage hoping to catch someone’s eye.

ellenmomwish.jpg

No luck. Nada. Sigh. I didn’t watch the roommate’s appearances – a person can only take so much disappointment.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pammy Girl
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 11:51:22

    You are really too kind with the compliments. Today I’m feeling none of those things. Instead I feel old (which is why I just colored my hair… far too many gray hairs), think I look like a mutant (if I didn’t maybe the guys in my own age bracket would talk to me), and not too successful in my writing endeavors (hence the lack of job offers and me feeling the growing pressure to get a temporary gig in the mall). Glad to hear that you’re not interested in my most recent toss as I think he’s a little past midnight on the crazy clock. I’ll keep you updated on the other guy… he’s 31 but all over the place emotionally and I’m not sure if I can handle that.

    My roommate says she’s a lucky charm (she’s got a LONG list of prizes won and married off friends/roommates) but I think maybe the charm is me. First she wins all that stuff on Ellen and today my older sister will be on Oprah. Do you think it’s sacreligious to pray that I’ll hit it big on The Price is Right this Monday?

    Reply

  2. fivehusbands
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 12:06:27

    Pammy,

    Not at all – I am praying and lighting candles for all good things to come to you, and a big hit on the Price is Right.

    Can you believe no one at Ellen was interested in my Mommy on Ellen collage?

    Hang in there – it will happen for you. Your voice is unique. I suspect our backgrounds are incredibly different, yet you bring a universality to your writing that is incredibly powerful.

    I didn’t make the cookies last night – too icy to go out and buy ingredients – maybe tomorrow.

    Reply

  3. fivehusbands
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 12:07:24

    Please excuse the “incredibly” lame use of incredibly twice.

    Reply

  4. Pammy Girl
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 14:08:55

    I hear you about the collage… especially since Ellen and her mom are extremely close. I liked your’s quite a bit. Ellen doesn’t know what she’s missing.

    The cookies are an investment. Making the dough takes 15 minutes, chilling the dough is either 3 hours or overnight (depends on your time), and then you’ve got the baking and the frosting. We’re talking 6 hours of your day, which is why I always split it up: make dough before I go to bed; pull it out of fridge in the afternoon to soften; bake cookies after dinner; store cookies in air tight container; frost next day.

    Again, many thanks on the compliments. I enjoy reading your blog as well.

    And here’s a trick to getting on Ellen: visit her website (http://ellen.warnerbros.com/tickets/) and click on a day you want to see the show. Since you’re a fair distance from here, pick a date far enough in the future so you can get an airline ticket. Looks like she’s got tickets available on March 17.

    Reply

  5. Pammy Girl
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 15:34:33

    I should let you know 2 things:

    1. I am loving the new look!!!
    2. My Ellen-winning roommate finally (finally) went through her Grammy stash and gave me some stuff: a consultation with a celebrity nutritionist plus 3 weeks (3 meals per day delivered to my home or office) of food; AND a skin therapy session.

    So thrilled! Now I have to get on the Ellen Show!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

